All News

The Mississippi Department of Revenue has drafted the proposed regulations for medical cannabis dispensaries. These regulations have been posted to our website and are available for review and public comment through April 29, 2022. They are available here: Proposed Regulations for Dispensaries (4/15/22).

Comments should be submitted to cannabis@dor.ms.gov.

Mississippi Department of Revenue Statement on SB 2095

 

 

 

Statement on SB 2095

Mississippi will follow the extended federal due date of February 15, 2022, extended from
January 3, to file certain income tax returns for victims of Hurricane Ida. The updated
relief covers the entire state of Mississippi and applies to any individual income tax returns,
corporate income and franchise tax returns, partnership tax returns, S corporation tax returns
and quarterly estimated payments that were originally due between August 28,2021 and
February 15, 2022.

2020 Extended Hurricane Ida Extension

 

Mississippi will follow the additional federal extended due date of January 3, 2022, to file certain
income tax returns for victims of Hurricane Ida. Individuals that reside or have a business in
Amite, Claiborne, Copiah, Covington, Franklin, George, Hancock, Harrison, Jackson, Jefferson,
Jefferson Davis, Lawrence, Lincoln, Pearl River, Pike, Simpson, Walthall, Wayne, and Wilkinson
counties qualify for the extension.

2020 Additional Hurricane Ida Extension 

Mississippi will follow the federal extended due date of November 1, 2021 to file certain income tax returns for victims of Hurricane Ida.

2020 Hurricane Ida Filing Extension.

 

Effective immediately, Mississippi law no longer requires taxpayers to submit accelerated payments for sales, use and withholding tax.

Accelerated Payment Notice 72-21-07

The Sardis Tourism Tax is no longer in effect as of July 1, 2021.

72-21-05 Notice of Repeal for Sardis Tourism Tax

The Byhalia Tourism, Parks and Recreation Tax is no longer in effect as of July 1, 2021.

72-21-06 Notice of Repeal for Byhalia Tourism Tax

​Effective March 16, 2021, the 25-year settling agreement between the State of Mississippi and Liggett and Myers Inc. has expired. The NSM Fee of $1.76 for each NSM cigarette will now be due on all cigarettes received from Liggett & Myers, Inc.

72-21-02 Notice to Tobacco Wholesalers Regarding Settling Manufacturers

The notice has been update to include language that will allow professional loggers to use the affidavit to receive the reduced rate.

72-21-01 Notice to Professional Loggers​​​