The following is intended to provide general information concerning a frequently asked question about taxes administered by the Mississippi Department of Revenue (DOR.) It is an informal interpretation of the tax law and is not intended to serve as a rule, regulation, declaratory opinion, or letter ruling. Legislation, regulations, court decisions, notices and announcements could affect the accuracy of this information. Please refer to the Mississippi Code Annotated and the Mississippi Administrative Code for the most current version of the law and administrative procedures.
- Can I file a balance due return and send the payment in by mail?
Yes, you can file a balance due return and send a check or money order in the mail with your payment voucher.
- How do I know that you received my return and payment?
The Department will send an acknowledgement that the e-filed return and/or payment has been received within five (5) business days after receipt.
- What if I don't receive an acknowledgement?
If you do not receive an acknowledgement, you should contact your preparer or software provider.
- Am I required to mail in a signature document?
No, the signature document is not required.
- Is my information secure?
Yes, your information is encrypted when sent and stored.
- How do I get help filing my electronic return?
For general tax questions, you may contact the Department of Revenue at (601) 923-7700. For software issues, you must contact your software provider.
- Who is required to file electronically?
Mississippi has the following electronic filing requirements:
- Employers with 25 or more W-2s and 1099s are required to file electronically. W-2s are due to the Department by January 31 and 1099s are due by February 28.
- Withholding returns with a payment of $20,000 or more are required to be filed and paid electronically.
- Pass-Through Entities that issue 100 or more K-1s are required to file electronically.
- Corporations and Pass-Through Entities with assets greater than $5,000,000 are required to file electronically.
Failure to file electronically as required may subject the taxpayer and/or tax preparer to a penalty of twenty-five dollars ($25.00) for the first instance of non-compliance and five hundred dollars ($500) for each additional instance of non-compliance.
- Which tax returns are available for e-file?
Individual, Fiduciary, Corporate and Pass-Through Entity Income Tax Returns are available for e-file.
- What are the due dates for electronically filed returns?
The due dates for electronically filed returns are the same as paper filed returns.
- Individual income tax returns are due by April 15 for calendar year returns and no later than the 15th day of the 4th month following the end of the year for fiscal year returns
- Corporation returns are due by the 15th day of the 4th month following the close of the accounting year
- Pass-through entity returns are due on or before the 15th day of the 3rd month following the close of the accounting year
If the due date falls on a Saturday, Sunday or legal holiday, the return is due the next business day.
- Can I file an amended return electronically?
Yes, an amended return can be filed for the prior two (2) years and the current year if supported by your software.