### MISSISSIPPI EMPLOYEE'S WITHHOLDING EXEMPTION CERTIFICATE

Employee's Name	SSN_	
Employee's Residence		

Mississippi Department of Revenue P.O. Box 960

Jackson, MS 39205				Number and Street	City or Town		State	ZIP Code	
	CLAIM YOUR WITHHOLDING PERSONAL EXEMPTION								
	1	Marital Status		Personal Exemption Allow	red		Amount	Claimed	
EMPLOYEE:	1.	Single		$\square$ Enter \$6,000 as exemption .	•	\$			
File this form with your employer. Otherwise, you	2.	Marital Status (Check One)	(a)	Spouse <b>NOT</b> employed: Enter	\$12 <b>,</b> 000 <b>•</b>	\$			
must withhold Mississippi income tax from the full amount of your wages.			(b)	Spouse <b>IS</b> employed: Enter set \$12,000 claimed by you in set \$500. See instructions 2(1)	multiples of	\$			
		Head of Family		Enter \$9,500 as exemption. as head of family, you mus and have a dependent livin home with you. See instru- and 2(d)below	t be single g in the ctions 2(c)	\$			
EMPLOYER:  Keep this certificate with your records. If the employee is believed to have claimed excess exemption, the Department of Revenue should be advised.		Dependents  Number Claimed	for fro inc *	You may claim \$1,500 for each dependent*, other than for taxpayer and spouse, who receives chief support from you and who qualifies as a dependent for Federal income tax purposes.  * A head of family may claim \$1,500 for each dependent excluding the one which qualifies you as head of family. Multiply number of dependents claimed by you by \$1,500. Enter amount claimed ▶					
		Age and Blindness	• E Mu En	Age 65 or older Husband Windshind Husband Windshind Husband Windship Husband Windship Husband	fe ☐ Single ked by \$1,500.	\$			
		TOTAL AMOUNT OF	EXE	MPTION CLAIMED - Lines 1 through	5▶	\$			
	7.	7. Additional dollar amount of withholding per pay period if agreed to by your employer				\$			
Military Spouses Residency Relief Act Exemption from Mississippi Withholding	8.	8. If you meet the conditions set forth under the Service Member Civil Relief, as amended by the Military Spouses Residency Relief Act, and have no Mississippi tax liability, write "Exempt" on Line 8. You must attach a copy of the Federal Form DD-2058 and a copy of your Military Spouse ID Card to this form so your employer can validate the exemption claim▶				_			

I declare under the penalties imposed for filing false reports that the amount of exemption claimed on this certificate does not exceed the amount to which I am entitled or I am entitled to claim exempt status.

Employee's Signature:

Date:

# 1. The personal exemptions allowed:

(a) Single Individuals \$6,000 (d) Dependents \$1.500 (b) Married Individuals (Jointly) \$12,000 (e) Age 65 and Over \$1.500 (c) Head of family \$9,500 (f) Blindness \$1,500

#### 2. Claiming personal exemptions:

- (a) Single Individuals enter \$6,000 on Line 1.
- (b) Married individuals are allowed a joint exemption of \$12,000.

If the spouse is not employed, enter \$12,000 on Line 2(a). If the spouse is employed, the exemption of \$12,000 may be divided between taxpayer and spouse in any manner they choose - in multiples of \$500. For example, the taxpayer may claim \$6,500 and the spouse claims \$5,500; or the taxpayer may claim \$8,000 and the spouse claims \$4,000. The total claimed by the taxpayer and spouse may not exceed \$12,000. Enter amount claimed by vou on Line 2(b).

#### (c) Head of Family

A head of family is a single individual who maintains a home which is the principal place of abode for himself and at least one other dependent. Single individuals qualifying as a head of family enter \$9,500 on Line 3. If the taxpayer has more than one dependent, additional exemptions are applicable. See item (d).

(d) An additional exemption of \$1,500 may generally be claimed for each dependent of the taxpayer. A dependent is any relative who receives chief support from the taxpayer and who qualifies as a dependent for Federal income tax purposes. Head of family individuals may claim an additional exemption for each dependent <u>excluding</u> the one which is required for head of family status. For example, a head of family taxpayer has 2 dependent children and his dependent mother living with him. The taxpayer may claim 2 additional exemptions. Married or single individuals may claim an additional exemption for each dependent, but

## INSTRUCTIONS

should not include themselves or their spouse. Married taxpayers may divide the number of their dependents between them in any manner they choose; for example, a married couple has 3 children who qualify as dependents. The taxpayer may claim 2 dependents and the spouse 1; or the taxpayer may claim 3 dependents and the spouse none. Enter the amount of dependent exemption on Line 4.

- (e) An additional exemption of \$1,500 may be claimed by either taxpayer or spouse or both if either or both have reached the age of 65 before the close of the taxable year. No additional exemption is authorized for dependents by reason of age. Check applicable blocks on Line 5.
- (f) An additional exemption of \$1,500 may be claimed by either taxpayer or spouse or both if either or both are **blind**. No additional exemption is authorized for dependents by reason of blindness. Check applicable blocks on Line 5. Multiply number of blocks checked on Line 5 by \$1,500 and enter amount of exemption claimed.
- 3. <u>Total Exemption Claimed:</u>
  Add the amount of exemptions claimed in each category and enter the total on Line 6. This amount will be used as a basis for withholding income tax under the appropriate withholding
- 4. A NEW EXEMPTION CERTIFICATE MUST BE FILED WITH YOUR EMPLOYER WITHIN 30 DAYS AFTER ANY CHANGE IN YOUR EXEMPTION STATUS.
- 5. PENALTIES ARE IMPOSED FOR WILLFULLY SUPPLYING FALSE INFORMATION
- IF THE EMPLOYEE FAILS TO FILE AN EXEMPTION CERTIFICATE WITH HIS EMPLOYER, INCOME TAX MUST BE WITHHELD BY THE EMPLOYER ON TOTAL WAGES WITHOUT THE BENEFIT OF EXEMPTION...
- 7. To comply with the Military Spouse Residency Relief Act (PL111-97) signed on November 11, 2009