
Page 1 of 1

Petroleum Tax Bureau 
P. O. Box 1033 
Jackson, MS  39215-1033 
Phone:  (601) 923-7150 

        
This fact sheet is intended to help you become more familiar with Mississippi tax 
laws and your rights and responsibilities under the laws.  Nothing in this fact sheet 
supersedes, alters, or otherwise changes any provisions of the tax law, regulations, 
court decisions, or notices. 
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Special Fuel Used on Government Contracts 

State and Local Government Contracts 
Special fuel purchased, acquired or used in performing contracts with the State of Mississippi, 

counties, municipalities or any political subdivision is taxed at a rate of 21 cents per gallon.  Special 

fuel includes but is not limited to the following: 

 Dyed diesel fuel;

 Kerosene;

 Undyed diesel fuel; and,

 Fuel oil.

State and local government contracts include construction, reconstruction and maintenance or repairs of 

projects such as roads, bridges, water systems, sewer systems, buildings, drainage canals and 

recreational facilities.  The Department of Revenue may require contractors to remit the excise tax 

directly to the state in lieu of paying the tax to a distributor.  

Special Fuel Direct Pay Permit 
Contractors that remit the excise tax to the state will be issued a Special Fuel Direct Pay Permit.  This 

permit relieves the distributor from collecting the tax and requires the contractor to file a monthly special 

fuel return.  The distributor should include the contractor’s permit number on all invoices that are related 

to tax-free sales.   

The contractor is required to furnish a surety or cash bond guaranteeing the payment of the excise tax 

prior to receiving the Special Fuel Direct Pay Permit.  The Department of Revenue may accept a 

contractors tax bond if the bond covers the excise tax levied on special fuel. 

Special Fuel Distributors 
If the contractor does not have a Special Fuel Direct Pay Permit, distributors are required to collect 

the 21 cents excise tax on dyed diesel fuel and kerosene and remit the tax to the Department of 

Revenue.  The additional 15.25 cents levied on special fuel (excluding undyed diesel) should be 

reported on schedules 5F and 5G of the special fuel return. 

Environmental Protection Fee 
Special fuel distributors are required to collect the environmental protection fee even if the contractor 

has a Special Fuel Direct Pay Permit.  The fee is levied at 4/10ths of a cent per gallon.  The fee is 

suspended or reinstated when the trust fund has exceeded or fallen below the obligatory balance.     

Penalties 
Any person who knowingly and willfully purchases untaxed fuel for use in equipment utilized on a road 

or highway construction site in this state is guilty of a misdemeanor and, upon conviction, shall be fined 

not less than $1,000 or more than $100,000, or imprisoned in the county jail for not more than one year, 

or both. 




