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This fact sheet is intended to help you become more familiar with Mississippi tax 
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court decisions, or notices. 
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Gasoline, Special Fuel and Compressed Gas Sold to 
Governmental Entities 

 

Exempt Governmental Entities 
Mississippi law provides a partial exemption for the sale of gasoline, special fuel and compressed gas 
used in a motor vehicle, motorboat or aircraft for the exclusive use of a governmental entity.  
Governmental entities include the following: 
 
• United States Government; 
• State of Mississippi; 
• Local (counties, municipalities & political subdivisions of the State of Mississippi); 
• Mississippi School Districts; and, 
• Volunteer Fire Departments.   

Volunteer Fire Departments 
The partial exemption only applies to gasoline, special fuel and compressed gas used in a vehicle owned 
by a volunteer fire department and used for departmental purposes.  The volunteer fire department must 
be chartered under the laws of the State of Mississippi as a nonprofit corporation.   
Armed Forces of the United States Government 
Mississippi law provides a full exemption for the sale of gasoline, special fuel and compressed gas sold 
to the United States Government for use of the Armed Forces.  To qualify for this exemption, each 
delivery must be in quantities of 4,000 gallons or greater.  The partial exemption applies if the delivery 
to the Armed Forces is less than 4,000 gallons.   
Claiming the Exemptions  
Exempt certificates are not issued for purposes of Excise Taxes; therefore, the exemptions (partial and 
full) may be claimed without the prior approval of the department.  However, satisfactory proof is 
required to be furnished upon the department’s request.   
 
The partial exemption should be claimed on Schedule 13H of the gasoline and/or special fuel return.   
 
The full exemption should be claimed on Schedule 8 of the gasoline and/or special fuel return. 
 
The full exemption should be claimed on Line 2 and the partial exemption should be claimed on Line 9 
of the compressed gas return.  
 
NOTE:  The exemptions can only be claimed by a Mississippi licensed distributor.  The governmental 
entity must assign his claim for exemption to any Mississippi licensed distributor.  The exemption may 
be claimed on the distributor’s next return.  
Governmental (Partial) Exemptions 
The distributor is required to pay the full tax before any exemption is allowed.  The partial exemptions 
are as follows: 
 
• Gasoline - 5.4 cents per gallon. 
• Special Fuel - 4.75 cents per gallon. 
• Compressed Gas - 3 cents per gallon.  

Dyed Diesel for Highway Use 
A rate of 18 cents per gallon (as opposed to 5.75 cents per gallon) of dyed diesel or kerosene is levied 
when sold to a state or local governmental entity for use on the highways in a motor vehicle.  
 


