Telephone/Internet Liquor Order & Curbside Delivery

In response to the Governor Reeves’ declaration of a state of emergency due to COVID-19, the Department of Revenue has enacted a temporary amendment to Title 35, Part II, Subpart 2, Chapter 3 of the Mississippi Administrative Code.  This amendment will allow customers to submit orders and pay liquor retailers by telephone or internet, and allow liquor retailers to provide on-premises curbside delivery.  The ABC considers this rule to have become effective March 16, 2020.  It may be viewed on the Department of Revenue’s website at www.dor.ms.gov, or at the Secretary of State’s website at www.sos.ms.gov.  The Department of Revenue will consider making a permanent change to the rule to allow for orders and curbside delivery when warranted during a state of emergency.  The ABC is authorizing this practice until Restaurants and Bars are allowed to open for normal business. We will review the need to extend such authorization and issue a notification if it is extended. ​ 

 

https://www.sos.ms.gov/adminsearch/ACProposed/00024782a.pdf​

https://www.sos.ms.gov/adminsearch/ACProposed/00024782b.pdf

 

The rule states as follows:

Except as stated herein, all sales of alcoholic beverages shall be made inside the permitted premises. If the Governor of the State of Mississippi has declared a State of Emergency or the Commissioner otherwise determines it is in the best interest of the State to do so, permitted sales for package retailers may include orders and payment over the telephone or over the internet with curbside pickup for customers in the parking lot of the package retailers. The Department will issue a public announcement if curbside service is authorized. 

 

Remember, you must still ensure that the individual picking up the order is over the age of 21.​ ​​​​​​


Article Date:   3/17/2020    |   Expiration Date:   3/17/2030


View all news >>

Recent News
NSM Fee Rate Increase | 6/1/2021
Effective July 1, 2021, the NSM Fee will increase from 1.71 cents for each NSM cigarette to 1.81 cents for each NSM cigarette. This will result in an increase of $.10 per carton.

2021 Second Amendment Sales Tax Holiday | 5/26/2021
The 2021 Second Amendment Sales Tax Holiday takes place between 12:01 A.M. Friday, August 27, 2021 and 12:00 Midnight Sunday, August 29, 2021.

2021 Sales Tax Holiday | 5/26/2021
The 2021 Sales Tax Holiday takes place between 12:01 A.M. Friday, July 30, 2021 and 12:00 Midnight Saturday,  July 31, 2021.

Accelerated Payment No Longer Required | 5/3/2021
Effective immediately, Mississippi law no longer requires taxpayers to submit accelerated payments for sales, use and withholding tax.

Notice of Repeal of Sardis Tourism Tax | 4/20/2021
The Sardis Tourism Tax is no longer in effect as of July 1, 2021.

1 - 5 Next