Restaurant Doggie Bag Wine Sales Allowed

Currently, ABC regulations allow restaurant customers to remove one bottle of wine from a permitted business when the bottle was partially consumed during the course of a meal, the permittee securely reseals the bottle for the customer, places the bottle in a sealed bag and the restaurant provides the customer with a receipt showing that a meal was also purchased.  This is commonly referred to as a “doggie bag”. 

 

The ABC has already allowed package store permittees to offer curb side delivery until April 30, 2020.  As restaurants are either limiting sit down meals or can no longer offer sit down meals as a result of the Covid-19 pandemic, the ABC will also allow permitted restaurants to offer the “doggie bag” option for to-go orders until April 30, 2020.  This provision covers the sale of a single, sealed bottle of wine that is sold WITH a to-go order.  The same rules apply in reference to the sealed bag and the receipt showing the purchase of a meal and in locations where “doggie bags” are allowed.  To-go sales of mixed drinks are strictly prohibited.​


Article Date:   3/19/2020    |   Expiration Date:   3/19/2030


View all news >>

Recent News
Gulf Coast Office to Offer IRP & IFTA Services | 4/16/2021
Effective April 12, 2021, the Gulf Coast District Office in Biloxi will begin providing IRP & IFTA services.

Tobacco Stamp Change Notice | 3/23/2021
​Within the next few weeks, the tobacco stamp will change colors. Please continue using the current stamp until you have exhausted your inventory.

2020 INDIVIDUAL INCOME TAX FILING EXTENSION | 3/22/2021
Mississippi will follow the federal extension to file the 2020 individual income tax returns from April 15, 2021 to May 17, 2021.  This extension only applies to the filing of the individual income tax return and payment of tax due.  Penalty and interest will not accrue on the returns filed and payments made on or before May 17, 2021. 

This extension does not apply to the quarterly estimated payments due on April 15, 2021. 

 2020 Individual Income Tax Extension Notice



Notice to Tobacco Wholesalers Regarding Expiration of Settling Manufacturing Agreement | 3/16/2021
​Effective March 16, 2021, the 25-year settling agreement between the State of Mississippi and Liggett and Myers Inc. has expired. The NSM Fee of $1.76 for each NSM cigarette will now be due on all cigarettes received from Liggett & Myers, Inc.

Updated Notice to Professional Loggers | 3/1/2021
The notice has been update to include language that will allow professional loggers to use the affidavit to receive the reduced rate.
1 - 5 Next