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Mississippi Department of Revenue                     
 
  

First‐time Home Buyer Savings Account Deduction 
   
  

PURPOSE & SCOPE:     

The First‐time Home Buyers Act allows Mississippi residents to establish a savings account to help 
offset the costs of home ownership and receive tax advantages.  The amount deposited into the 
First‐time Home Buyers account and any interest earned on the account is excluded from gross 
income.   

REFERENCES: 

Miss. Code Ann. Sections 27‐7‐15(4)(jj), 27‐7‐1101 & 27‐7‐1103 

OVERVIEW:       

What is a first‐time home buyer savings account? 
A first‐time home buyer savings account is an account established with a financial institution by 
someone who has never owned or purchased under contract for deed a single‐family residence.   
The distributions from a first‐time home buyer savings account are for the purpose of paying or 
reimbursing eligible costs for the purchase of a single‐family residence in this state by the account 
holder.  
 
What can the money in a first‐time home buyer savings account be used for? 
The  savings  account may  only  be  used  to  pay  eligible  costs  such  as  the  down  payment  and 
allowable closing costs for the purchase of a single‐family residence in this state by a qualified 
beneficiary.  Allowable closing costs are a disbursement listed on a settlement statement for the 
purchase of a single‐family residence. 
 
Can I make first‐time home buyer savings contributions to an existing savings account or 
money market account that contains funds held for a separate purpose? 
No, a first‐time home buyer savings account must be segregated into a new, separate savings or 
money market account.  You must designate all monies in this account for this purpose. 
 
How much money can I put into my first‐time home buyer savings account? 
Each qualified beneficiary may contribute up to $2,500 per year.  For Single, Head of Family, or 
Married Filing Separate statuses, the amount of the contribution for any tax year cannot exceed 
$2,500.  For Married Filing Joint and Married Spouse Died statuses, the amount of contribution 
for any tax year cannot exceed $5,000. 
 
Can deductible contributions be made to the first‐time home buyer savings account over 
multiple years? 
Yes, but the contributions are limited to the amounts listed above for all tax years. 
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Is there a penalty if I use the money in my first‐time home buyer savings account for something 
other than qualified expenses? 
If  funds  are withdrawn  from an  account  for  any  purpose  other  than  the  payment  of  eligible 
expenses, then that amount will be added to gross income and subject to a ten percent (10%) 
penalty.   However,  the penalty will not apply  if  the funds were (a) withdrawn because of the 
account holder’s death or disability, (b) a disbursement of assets of the account pursuant to a 
filing for protection under the United States Bankruptcy Code, or (c) transferred from a first‐time 
home buyer savings account into another a first‐time home buyer savings account. 
 
Can a married couple get a first‐time home buyer savings account if one of the spouses has 
never owned a home?  
Yes, but the deduction is limited to $2,500 because only one of the spouses qualify.  If the 
taxpayers file married filing separate returns, then only the spouse who has never owned a 
home claims the deduction.  The spouse who is the first‐time home buyer will also have to be 
the sole account owner. 
  
What types of homes qualify? 
A single‐family residence includes a house, manufactured home, modular home, mobile home, 
condominium unit, or cooperative. 
 
Will a new construction loan qualify? 
Yes, as long as the first‐time home buyer savings account distributions pay the down payment 
and/or closing costs. 
 
How is the deduction claimed on the income tax return?   
The amount claimed as a deduction will be an Adjustment to Income on page 2 of the Mississippi 
Individual  Income Tax Return.   Any unqualified withdrawals will be added back  to Mississippi 
income as Other Income on Schedule N.   


