Form 89-350-23-8-1-000 (Rev. 11/23)

MISSISSIPPI EMPLOYEE'S WITHHOLDING EXEMPTION CERTIFICATE

Employee's Name

SSN

Employee's Residence

's Residence	·	
	Number and Street City or Town	State Zip Code
	CLAIM YOUR WITHHOLDING PERSONAL EXEMPTION	
l Status	Personal Exemption Allowed	Amount Claimed
Le	Enter \$6,000 as exemption	\$
<pre>File this form with your employer. Otherwise, you must withhold Mississippi income tax from the full amount of your wages.</pre> 2. Marital Status (Check One)	(a) Spouse NOT employed: Enter \$12,000	\$
	 (b) Spouse IS employed: Enter that part of \$12,000 claimed by you in multiples of \$500. See instructions 2(b) below.► 	Ş
of Family	■ Enter \$9,500 as exemption. To qualify as head of family, you must be single and have a dependent living in the home with you. See instructions 2(c) and 2(d)below	ş
Claimed	You may claim \$1,500 for each dependent*, other than for taxpayer and spouse, who receives chief support from you and who qualifies as a dependent for Federal income tax purposes. * A head of family may claim \$1,500 for each dependent excluding the one which qualifies you as head of family. Multiply number of dependents claimed by you by \$1,500. Enter amount claimed▶	Ş
advised. 5. Age and blindness	 Age 65 or older Husband Wife Single Blind Husband Wife Single Multiply the number of blocks checked by \$1,500. Enter the amount claimed ▶ * Note: No exemption allowed for age or blindness for dependents. 	Ş
 6. TOTAL AMOUNT OF EXEMPTION CLAIMED - Lines 1 through 5 ▶ 7. Additional dollar amount of withholding per pay period if agreed to by your employer		ş
		\$
ou meet the l Relief, as ef Act, and npt" on Line DD-2058 and	conditions set forth under the Service Member s amended by the Military Spouses Residency have no Mississippi tax liability, write e 8. You must attach a copy of the Federal d a copy of your Military Spouse ID Card to	
l ≘: n] I	Relief, as f Act, and pt" on Line DD-2058 and	Relief, as amended by the Military Spouses Residency f Act, and have no Mississippi tax liability, write pt" on Line 8. You must attach a copy of the Federal DD-2058 and a copy of your Military Spouse ID Card to form so your employer can validate the exemption claim►

I declare under the penalties imposed for filing false reports that the amount of exemption claimed on this certificate does not exceed the amount to which I am entitled or I am entitled to claim exempt status.

Employee's Signature:

Date:

INSTRUCTIONS			
I. The personal exemptions allowed: (a) Single Individuals \$6,000 (d) Dependents \$1,500 (b) Married Individuals (Jointly) \$12,000 (e) Age 65 and Over \$1,500 (c) Head of family \$9,500 (f) Blindness \$1,500	should not include themselves or their spouse. Married taxpayers may divide the number of their dependents between them in any manner they choose; for example, a married couple has 3 children who qualify as dependents. The taxpayer may claim 2 dependents and the spouse 1; or the taxpayer may claim 3 dependents and the spouse none. Enter the amount of dependent exemption on Line 4.		
 2. Claiming personal exemptions: (a) Single Individuals enter \$6,000 on Line 1. (b) Married individuals are allowed a joint exemption of \$12,000. If the spouse is not employed, enter \$12,000 on Line 2(a). If the spouse is employed, the exemption of \$12,000 may be divided between taxpayer and spouse in any manner they choose - in multiples of \$500. For example, the taxpayer may claim \$6,500 and the spouse claims \$5,500; or the taxpayer and spouse claims \$4,000. The total claimed by the taxpayer and spouse may not exceed \$12,000. Enter amount claimed by you on Line 2(b). (c) Head of Family A head of family is a single individual who maintains a home which is the principal place of abode for himself and at least one other dependent. Single individuals qualifying as a head 	 (e) An additional exemption of \$1,500 may be claimed by either taxpayer or spouse or both if either or both have reached the age of 65 before the close of the taxable year. No additional exemption is authorized for dependents by reason of age. Check applicable blocks on Line 5. (f) An additional exemption of \$1,500 may be claimed by either taxpayer or spouse or both if either or both are blind. No additional exemption is authorized for dependents by reason of blindness. Check applicable blocks on Line 5. Untiply number of blocks checked on Line 5 by \$1,500 and enter amount of exemption claimed. 3. Total Exemption Claimed: Add the amount of exemptions claimed in each category and enter the total on Line 6. This amount will be used as a basis for withholding income tax under the appropriate withholding tables. 4. A NEW EXEMPTION CERTIFICATE MUST BE FILED WITH YOUR EMPLOYER 		
 abdue to himsen and at least the taxpayer has more than one dependent, additional exemptions are applicable. See item (d). (d) <u>An additional exemption of \$1,500 may generally be claimed for each dependent, additional exemptions are applicable. See item (d).</u> (d) <u>An additional exemption of \$1,500 may generally be claimed for each dependent of the taxpayer</u>. A dependent is any relative who receives chief support from the taxpayer and who qualifies as a dependent for Federal income tax purposes. Head of family individuals may claim an additional exemption for each dependent <u>excluding</u> the one which is required for head of family status. For example, a head of family taxpayer has 2 dependent children and his dependent mother living with him. The taxpayer may claim 2 additional exemptions. Married or single individuals may claim an additional smay claim an additional exemptions. 	 A New EXEMPTION CERTIFICATE MUST BE FILED WITH YOUR EMPLOYER WITHIN 30 DAYS AFTER ANY CHANGE IN YOUR EXEMPTION STATUS. PENALTIES ARE IMPOSED FOR WILLFULLY SUPPLYING FALSE INFORMATION. IF THE EMPLOYEE FAILS TO FILE AN EXEMPTION CERTIFICATE WITH HIS EMPLOYER, INCOME TAX MUST BE WITHHELD BY THE EMPLOYER ON TOTAL WAGES WITHOUT THE BENIFIT OF EXEMPTION. To comply with the Military Spouse Residency Relief Act (PL111-97) signed on November 11, 2009. 		