Property Tax in Mississippi

Tax Information

Ad Valorem

Homestead Exemption

Road and Bridge Privilege Titles

Freeport Warehouse

Industrial Exemptions

Legislative Tag Credit Specialized Tags
Assessed Utilities Aircraft Registration

Personalized Tags

 


Other


Ad Valorem Tax (Miss. Code Ann. Section 27-31-1 to 27-53-33 )

All property, real and personal, is appraised at true value and assessed at a percentage of true value according to its type and use.

Assessment ratios are 10%, 15%, and 30%. All ad valorem taxes are assessed by local taxing authorities; except, the Department of Revenue assesses all public service corporations (railroads, pipelines, electric power and light companies, private railcars, telephone and telegraph companies, and other such companies.)

The DOR provides to the tax assessor uniform assessment schedules for motor vehicle and mobile homes.

All ad valorem taxes are collected by the local county and/or municipal tax collectors. Ad valorem taxes are payable on or before February 1 following the year of assessment. Ad Valorem taxes on motor vehicles are paid at the time the vehicle is registered for Road and Bridge Privilege Taxes. Mobile homes must be registered within seven days of either its purchase or movement into the state; the ad valorem taxes are to be paid within 90 days.

Return to top

Homestead Exemption (Miss. Code Ann. Section 27-33-1 to 27-33-79)

Qualified homeowners are allowed an exemption from certain ad valorem taxes based on the assessed value of their home. The amount of exemption is determined from tables that are provided by law.

Persons who are 65 years of age and older or who are disabled, upon application and proof of eligibility, are exempt from all ad valorem taxes up to $7,500.00 of assessed value. The application for exemption must be filed with the individual county on or before April 1.

Return to top

Free Port Warehouse (Miss. Code Ann. Sections 27-31-51 to 27-31-61)

Warehouses located in Mississippi which handle and store personal property may qualify for licensing as a free port warehouse, provided that a percentage of the value of the personal property handled by the warehouse is destined for shipment outside the state. This percent of value is applied to the merchandise on hand as of January 1, and this value is exempt from ad valorem taxes provided that the local taxing authorities have granted an exemption to the warehouse. This license, which cost $10, is obtained from the local tax assessor.

Return to top

Industrial Exemptions (Miss. Code Ann. Sections 27-31-101 to 27-31-117)

The DOR, upon receipt of the required documentation from local governing authorities, investigates and determines if certain industries are eligible and exempt from ad valorem taxation. If agreed to by the local governing authorities, the Department of Revenue issues its certificate of approval. Upon receipt, new and existing industries are exempt from all ad valorem taxation, except for school district purposes.

Return to top

Assessed Utilities (Miss. Code Ann. Section 27-15-151)

Electric Per mile of pole line $22.50

Pipeline Per mile of pipeline $15 to $125

Railroad Per mile of railroad $5 to $90

Telephone per telephone 4 cents

Return to top

Road and Bridge Privilege Tax (Miss. Code Ann. Section 27-19-1 et seq.)

Tax collectors in each county sell and issue license tags and decals for automobiles, church buses, taxicabs, ambulances, hearses, motorcycles, private trailers, travel trailers and house trailers, rental trailers, and property carriers with a GVM of 10,000 lbs. and less, as well as vehicles owned by a road, drainage or levee district. Road and Bridge Privilege and Ad Valorem Taxes on the vehicles are due upon purchase or renewal of license tags payable to the county tax collector.

License tag application for property carriers with a GVM greater than 10,000 lbs. are filed with the respective county tax collectors and forwarded to the DOR for issuance. Interstate carriers apply for an apportioned tag and intrastate carriers apply for a straight Mississippi tag. Road and bridge Privilege Taxes are due upon purchase or renewal of license tags payable to the DOR and vary according to weight, age, class, use, mileage (apportioned) and seating capacity (buses).

The DOR also accepts applications for license tags for tax exempt government owned vehicles and applications for Motor Vehicle Dealer Permits.

Trip permits. for property carriers with a GVW greater than 10,000 lbs and are not registered with Mississippi but plan to travel on Mississippi highways, are obtained for $25.00 for a 72 hour period , from the Mississippi Department of Transportation.

Permits for oversize movements require MS DOT approval and cost $10.00. Overweight permits must be approved by the MS DOT as well and fees vary at a rate of $.5 cents per mile per 1,000 lbs.

Return to top

Legislative Tag Credit (Miss. Code Ann. Section 27-51-101)

All Mississippi residents who own private carriers of passengers and light carriers of property are eligible for a credit against the purchase of their car tag. This credit is based on the assessed value of the vehicle.

This is a credit provided for the taxpayer; however, the county is reimbursed for the loss from this credit with monies from the Motor Vehicle Ad Valorem Tax Reduction Fund. The Motor Vehicle Ad Valorem Tax Reduction Fund is financed by the Sales Tax revenue collected on passenger carriers and light property carriers. Each year the DOR must determine the percentage of credit based on the amount of money in the Motor Vehicle Ad Valorem Tax Reduction Fund.

Return to top

Aircraft Registration (Miss. Code Ann. Section 61-15-1)

All aircraft based and operated from any airport in this state are required to be registered by the owner or person in charge of such aircraft on or before March 1st of each year. The registration fee is based upon the FAA certified gross weight of the aircraft, type of aircraft, type and number of engines. Aircraft registration is made with the County Tax Collector.

Return to top

Personalized Tags (Miss. Code Ann. Section 27-19-48)

Personalized license plates may be obtained through each County Tax Collector. The annual additional cost is $31.

Return to top

Specialized Tags (Miss. Code Ann. 27-19-56 through 27-19-56.161)

Specialized licensed plates may be obtained through the local County Tax Collector. Specialized tags fee vary depending upon the actual tag. See a list of the various specialized tags and information concerning the amount of the additional fee and how it is distributed.

Return to top

Title, Motor Vehicles and Manufactured Homes (Miss. Code Ann. Section 63-21-1)

The DOR issues titles for motor vehicles and manufactured homes in Mississippi. Title applications are prepared by a Designated Agent who forwards the application to the DOR. Designated Agents include all County Tax Collectors, all licensed automobile dealers, and certain lending institutions. Designated agents may add $1.00 to the transaction as their fee for services rendered.

Motor Vehicles $9
Manufactured Homes $9
Fast Track - title issued within 72 hours of receipt by Dept. of Revenue $39


Return to top​​​

​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​ ​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​