2016 Legislation

Please review the Mississippi Code and Mississippi Administrative Code​  when analyzing your tax responsibilities and requirements.

Sales Tax

HB 167: Requires DOR to withhold 10% of the sales tax diversion to a municipality that fails to comply with state audit requirement when the State Auditor has issued its certificate of non-compliance. Provides that if DOR has paid a city its portion of sales tax in error, the maximum amount of repayment or withholding from a city is calculated for 3 years beginning with the date of the first erroneous disbursement.

HB 364: Amends Section 27-65-105(g) of the sales tax law to add to the home medical and equipment supplies exemption that payment does not have to be made in  whole or in part by any particular person to be eligible for the exemption.  Provides an exemption for schools and school districts under a program administered by an organization affiliated with the federal government.

HB 460: Amends the notice date for appeal for a revocation or suspension from "date of notice" to the "mail" date.

HB 1677: Provides an exemption for Christmas trees, hay, straw, fresh cut flowers and similar products when grown in Mississippi and cut from the farm, grove, garden or place of production and first sold from such place of production in the original state or condition of preparation for sale.    The exemption only includes items sold by the producer directly to the end consumer whereby the product is cut or severed at the time of sale.  Retail purchases of these items through stores are not affected.​

HB 1687Exempts the MS Children's Museum satellite museum.  Provides an exemption for supplies listed under Title XVIII of the Social Security Act or under the state plan for medical assistance under Title XIX of the Social Security Act.  Provides that the 2nd amendment sales tax holiday is moved from the first Friday in September to the last Friday in August.
Income Tax ​​HB 461Provides that the filing date for the state income tax return for corporations and partnerships is the same as filing date for the corresponding federal return.

HB 496
Extends the repeal date to January 1, 2019 on the income tax credit for new cut and sew jobs in upholstered furniture manufacturing industry.

HB 1078
Extends the repeal date to July 2019 for the Export Port Charges Tax Credit; extends the repeal date to July 2019 the Income tax credit for utilization of airport facilities at public airports for export or import of cargo; and extends the requirement to December 2019 that the Mississippi Development Authority annually report to the Legislature the impact of the credits for the Export Tax Credit and to July 2019 for the Airport facilities credit.

SB 2858
Provides that beginning with Tax Year 2018, the 3% rate on income tax (individual and corporate) will be phased out over 5 years, and the corporate franchise tax will be phased out over 9 years ending with tax year 2027. The bill also provides a deduction for those paying the federal self-employment tax.
Economic Incenti​​ves

Tax Incentive Information​

HB 1078Extends the repeal date to July 2019 for the Export Port Charges Tax Credit; extends the repeal date to July 2019 the Income tax credit for utilization of airport facilities at public airports for export or import of cargo; and extends the requirement to December 2019 that the Mississippi Development Authority annually report to the Legislature the impact of the credits for the Export Tax Credit and to July 2019 for the Airport facilities credit.

SB 2922
Raises the amount of rehab credit (historical building renovation) from $60m to $120m.  The amount of credit that may be paid out is limited to $12 million a year.   Provides for two new tourism projects:  the Grammy Museum and the MS Arts and Entertainment Center.    Extends the time for new applications to tourism rebate to July 2020; extends the payment of rebates for non-resident salaries paid for movie projects to July 2017.
Other HB 460: ​Amends the notice date for appeal for a revocation or suspension from “date of notice” to the “mail” date. 

HB 496Extends the repeal date to January 1, 2019 on the income tax credit for new cut and sew jobs in upholstered furniture manufacturing industry.

HB 491
Extends the repeal date to July 2019 for the fee for training requirements and funding for emergency telecommunications.
Alcohol and Beer

ABC

Beer 

HB 845: Provides for an expansion of resort area in Pearl River Valley Water Supply to the surrounding area located within the specifically designated Reservoir Community District.  Provides resort status to the clubhouse and associated golf course where the golf course is adjacent to one or more residential developments and the golf course and all such developments collectively include at least 200 acres and at least 150 residential units and are located in a county that has voted against coming out from under the dry law but in close proximity of a municipality which has voted to come out from under the dry law.

HB 1223: A
uthorizes certain municipalities to create Leisure and Recreation Districts which allow patrons to leave permitted premises with alcoholic beverages in an open “glass, cup or other container”. Authorized cities include those in the 3 Coast Counties, Tupelo, Hattiesburg, Holly Springs, Greenville, Greenwood, Canton, Jackson, Starkville, Senatobia, and Water Valley.

HB 1292
Provides, for a violation of the Social Host Law (Section 97-5-49), that a court may fine the person $1,000 or county jail for not more than 6 months, or by both the fine and imprisonment, at the discretion of the court.

SB 2055
Provides that all unlawful acts prescribed by the Beer Laws and the Social Host Law (Section 97-5-49) may be enforced by ABC.  Amends the law to provide, in situations where illegal product was seized in a dry county or from someone not authorized to have such product (minors), then ABC can dispose of beer and liquor once the defendant was found guilty and appeal time for that decision has lapsed.

SB 2419: Provides that a felony conviction, except for a crime of violence, doesn’t automatically disqualify a manager of premises holding an alcoholic beverage control permit.   The person must have been released from incarceration at least 3 years prior to applying for permit. 
Property & Homestead

Tax Information

HB 1560Provides that for personal property tax for a small business, the rendition provided by a taxpayer is presumed to be accurate, and the tax assessor must use the list for the purpose of determining the true value of the personal property unless the assessor has reason to believe it is inaccurate.  The term "small business" means a commercial enterprise with less than 25 employees with taxable personal property with a true value of less than $250,000.

SB 2922
Provides that all railroad properties and facilities wholly owned by a railroad authority created under Section 19-29-1 or owned by a limited liability company or other entity that is wholly by such railroad authority, shall be exempt for all ad valorem taxation.
Local Governments HB 1507City of Brandon authorizes a tax on hotels/motels
HB 1580
City of Florence extends repealer on bar and restaurant tax
HB 1581
City of Fulton extends repealer on hotel/motel tourism tax​
HB 1587
City of Batesville extends repealer on tourism and industry promotion tax
HB 1723
City of Carthage authorizes a tax on hotels/motels/restaurants
HB 1726
City of Brandon extends repealer on restaurants/bars tax
HB 1750​
City of West Point extends repealer on hotel/motel/restaurant tax
SB 2048
City of Winona authorizes tax on restaurants.
SB 2948
City of Pontotoc extends repealer on hotel/motel/restaurant tax
SB 2964: City of Houston authorizes tax on hotels/motels/restaurant

                

Prior Years




2013 Legislation​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​