E-File Frequently Asked Questions

The following is intended to provide general information concerning a frequently asked question about taxes administered by the Mississippi Department of Revenue (DOR.) It is an informal interpretation of the tax law and is not intended to serve as a rule, regulation, declaratory opinion, or letter ruling. Legislation, regulations, court decisions, notices and announcements could affect the accuracy of this information. Please refer to the Mississippi Code Annotated​ and the Mississippi Administrative Code for the most current version of the law and administrative procedures.

Can I file a balance due return and send the payment in by mail?

No, you will need to file the payment and return together, but you can schedule the return and payment for the date you want it to be received. ​

Back to top

How do I know that you received my return and payment?

When the return and payment are submitted, a transaction number is generated. At that time you can print the transaction number which is your confirmation that the return and payment have been submitted. If there are no bank errors, after 5 - 7 business days a confirmation of payment is updated in your personal online history. (Bank errors include items such as NSF, rejected payments or wrong account numbers.) You can log back into your account to verify this information at any time.​

Back to top

What if I don't receive a confirmation number?

If you don't see a confirmation on your account history, contact technical support at 1-800-566-7079, Option 3.​

Back to top

Am I required to mail in a signature document?

A signature document is not required.​

Back to top

What kind of computer do I need?

Any computer that has internet access is sufficient to use fileMS.​

Back to top

Is my information secure?

Yes, both the transaction and data storage are encrypted.​

Back to top

How do I get help?

For questions about filing by internet contact: 1-800-566-7079, Option 3. If your question is about tax, please contact the Department of Revenue at 601-923-7000.​

Back to top

Who is required to file electronically?

Taxpayers who have a tax liability of $20,000 per month are required to file electronically. However, everyone is encouraged to file electronically with benefits such as your convenience and ease in meeting filing obligations; your filing history records available to you online; your payment and return information completely secure; and your assistance processing returns more efficiently which helps lower the cost of state government-- it’s a great deal!!​

Back to top

How do I get registered to file electronically?

As long as you have a current Sales, Use, or Withholding account you may register to file on the internet. When you go to the website and setup your account, you will be asked for your valid e-mail address, a password that you choose, and address information.​

Back to top

Which tax returns can I file electronically?

Withholding, Sales, Use, Waste Tire Disposal, Special, Special City, Occupancy, Distribution of Motor Fuel and Motor Vehicle Rental.​

Back to top

How do I get a user ID and password?

You set you own user ID (your e-mail address) and choose your own password when you setup your account.​

Back to top

Will I still receive paper tax forms?

Paper forms will not be sent to you once registered to file online.​

Back to top

What are the due dates for electronically filed returns?

The due dates are the same as for paper filed returns.​

Back to top

Can I file an amended return electronically?

No, you will need to file an amended return or refund claim by paper. Contact us at 601-923-7000 for the appropriate form which will be sent to you.​

Back to top

Can I file more than one return at the same time?

Yes, but you must complete one filing at a time. You can customize your profile by setting multiple tax types and also setting up multiple tax accounts using the same user id and password.​

Back to top

What if I enter incorrect information?

You may delete information prior to submitting the filing. Once acceptance of the filing has been made, the return and payment have been sent just like you have dropped it in the mailbox. You may file an amended return by paper to correct the return information.​

Back to top

What if I am not sure if I filed for a particular time period?

There is a listing of returns filed in your personal account history. If the period has previously been filed online, it is not available to be selected and filed again.​

Back to top

I would like my tax preparer to file the return for me, but I would rather submit the payment myself. Is this possible?

Yes. The system allows a different user to be set up to complete the return and another user to authorize payment. Each user can have his or her own username and password.​

Back to top

How do I register?

See the Register for Taxes​ information. 

Back to top

​​​
​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​ ​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​